Posts from Awesome Folks #39

Hello and happy Thursday!

I'm sending the newsletter a day early this week as I will be offline for a few days.

I've been facilitating a lot again this week, and I have been reminded of the power of questioning structure and how this can help guide groups towards valuable outcomes.

It might be a symptom of so many online sessions, but it seems that quite a few people I have met over the last six months haven't experienced a well-structured workshop or discussion before.

Having a few guiding questions, interaction modes, and (flexible) timeboxes can turn a session from an open, meandering discussion towards a focus on outcomes and actions; these types of sessions can be so energising. This is true for agile habits (like standups, retrospectives and demos), community meet-ups, exploration or feedback.

If you are new to facilitation, try out a few guiding questions at your next session and let me know how it goes.

Please also drop me a little thumbs up if you find this newsletter helpful.

Enjoy this week's posts.

Emily

People and culture

By Ade Omole, Simon Child and Faith McAllister

By James Higgott

By Kari Kelly

Organisations and systems

By Grzegorz Kuczynski

By Amy C. Edmondson

By Atif Ansar and Bent Flyvbjerg

Setting and measuring goals

By Pat Osorio

Tools and approaches for teams

By Ron Carucci and Kathleen Hogan

By Clement Verna

By Jackie Colburn

Other things

If you're one of the many people joining Mastodon, come and say hi, I'm currently here mastodon.social/@ewebber

PAF logo