Posts from Awesome Folks #49

A weekly round up of blog posts I've been reading

Hello there,

This week, I’ve been thinking about bridging silos and building empathy. If you’ve read my recent post, Why can’t we all just get along or seen my work on Communities of practice or the Team Onion, you’ll know I have a passion for connecting people. Joining up people with different perspectives, motivations, and experiences builds empathy and understanding, makes for better outcomes and is far more fun than feeling against each other. These themes are always present in the way that I approach work.

So, it doesn’t surprise me that in this week’s links, Amy C. Edmondson’s work popped up a bit with her work on psychological safety, along with a few posts on empathy. I hope you find them as relevant as I do.

Enjoy, and happy Friday.

Emily

People and Culture

Organisations and Systems

Setting and Measuring Goals

Tools and Approaches for Teams

Other Things

I have seen the topic of Icebreakers raise its head a few times this week. Lots of people hate them, and they can be awful. Two truths and a lie is possibly the one I dislike the most. Here is my take on some that are worth doing.