Posts from Awesome Folks #54

A weekly round up of blog posts I've been reading

Hello!!!!!!

This week the topic of how exhausting working in person can be has arisen in a few conversations. For people who primarily work from home or have a hybrid working pattern, getting on a train, going into the office and face to face conversations feel a lot more effort than they used to.

Pre-March 2020, I travelled a lot. For the first five years as an independent consultant, I was away from home for half my week in various places around the UK and the world. Regularly travelling long distances felt fine, and I settled into a routine.

That has completely turned around in the last 3 years, and I spend most of my time at home. Now, jumping on the train to hop over to Manchester feels like a big deal.

There is some writing that suggests that the unpredictability that can come from hybrid working has something to do with this as well as lots of articles on why commuting is beneficial.

Hybrid working norms still have a way to go, but I definitely feel fortunate that I have a choice.

Enjoy this week’s posts and happy Friday

Emily

People and Culture

Organisations and Systems

Outcomes and Objectives

Team Approaches

Other Things