Posts from Awesome Folks #69

A weekly round up of blog posts I've been reading

Hello folks,

This week I have been back on the sewing machine. It’s been ages since I did anything more than make adjustments, and this week, I have actually cut out a pattern and have been making a dress.

When practicing a skill like this, it always reminds me of the learning curve that we go through. I am still very much a beginner, and the pattern states that it’s for beginners but makes a lot of assumptions about pre-existing knowledge (l don’t know how to make a collar), changes the names of things part way through and is really unclear about how many pieces to cut out. It’s impossible to make without more support and walk-throughs and as a beginner I need some clear rules to follow to not get lost.

However, it is magic to see a flat piece of material and a set of instructions turn into an actual usable thing.

Happy Friday, and enjoy this week’s posts.

Emily

People and Culture

Organisations and Systems

Outcomes and Objectives